Photoshop .dds plugin error

Introductions and generally anything not related to Province Cyrodiil.
Tarius
Head of Modelling
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 04:46

Photoshop .dds plugin error

Postby Tarius » 29 May 2012, 16:44

Alright, for any of you that do textures and use the Photoshop .dds plugin, please be sure to grab the update for it now.(came out a few days ago)
Apparently there was an error where saving textures as dxt1 still created an alpha layer(I think pixels that were all the way black converted to alpha). This explains why I was finding textures that had no need to be alpha.
Tarius: I have now conquered the galaxy twice and am working on a third. Once thats out of me, I will be back to work.
TDF: Which game is that(I assume its a game and not real life)
The Khan: If it was real life, we would know about it. And I dont think he means this Galaxy.
Tarius: Yes, I really lead a secret double life where I am a galactic overlord.

User avatar
Wollibeebee
P:C Reviewer
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: 18 Aug 2011, 23:10

Re: Photoshop .dds plugin error

Postby Wollibeebee » 30 May 2012, 00:39

Thanks Tarius.

User avatar
Mwgek
P:C Reviewer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 13 May 2012, 13:13
Location: Netherlands

Re: Photoshop .dds plugin error

Postby Mwgek » 31 May 2012, 23:00

Why not save them as DXT3? But thnx didn't know there was an update.

Tarius
Head of Modelling
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 04:46

Re: Photoshop .dds plugin error

Postby Tarius » 01 Jun 2012, 00:12

Well, that still involves an alpha layer and would make the file size larger. DXT1 is the only one that should have no alpha.
Tarius: I have now conquered the galaxy twice and am working on a third. Once thats out of me, I will be back to work.
TDF: Which game is that(I assume its a game and not real life)
The Khan: If it was real life, we would know about it. And I dont think he means this Galaxy.
Tarius: Yes, I really lead a secret double life where I am a galactic overlord.

User avatar
Mwgek
P:C Reviewer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 13 May 2012, 13:13
Location: Netherlands

Re: Photoshop .dds plugin error

Postby Mwgek » 01 Jun 2012, 15:52

Ok, so in morrowind dds is saved as DXT1 no alpha for normal textures and with alpha channel you should save them as DXT1 1 bit alpha? 3 and 5 are just higher quality with the 8bbp and are rendered useless in the morrowind engine?

I always tries what looks best :)

Tarius
Head of Modelling
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 04:46

Re: Photoshop .dds plugin error

Postby Tarius » 01 Jun 2012, 20:00

Mwgek wrote:Ok, so in morrowind dds is saved as DXT1 no alpha for normal textures and with alpha channel you should save them as DXT1 1 bit alpha? 3 and 5 are just higher quality with the 8bbp and are rendered useless in the morrowind engine?

I always tries what looks best :)

No, that isnt what I said.

DXT1 should have no alpha by default.

DXT3 has an alpha, but the only difference between DXT3 and DXT5 is that DXT5 is higher quality alpha.
Tarius: I have now conquered the galaxy twice and am working on a third. Once thats out of me, I will be back to work.
TDF: Which game is that(I assume its a game and not real life)
The Khan: If it was real life, we would know about it. And I dont think he means this Galaxy.
Tarius: Yes, I really lead a secret double life where I am a galactic overlord.

User avatar
Mwgek
P:C Reviewer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 13 May 2012, 13:13
Location: Netherlands

Re: Photoshop .dds plugin error

Postby Mwgek » 01 Jun 2012, 20:50

Hmm ok. I save my alpha textures as DXT 1 bit alpha most of the time. Will try out the different options when I run into a transparant model.

Thnx for the replies.


Return to Off-Topic Discussion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron